What happens to your social media profiles when you die?

Many users must have asked this question. So what happens to your social media profiles when you die?, will it be locked, or is there anyway by which some of your family members can lock down the account without knowing the password? Well, it depends on which social media platform you’re talking about. In this article we are going to find out what will happen to your online profile when you die?


social media profiles

1. Facebook

So first lets see what are Facebook  policies are. In the case of Facebook you have two options. You can either have a Memorialized account or you can have a deleted profile. Facebook will not give you access to anyone else’s profile no matter if they are deceased or not.


Memorializing a Facebook account:
In this case, your family members or close relatives can request your profile be memorialized, which means your account will turn into a Facebook page in memory of yours. Once your account is memorialized no one will be able to login to your account i.e. the Facebook page and it will stay as long as there is Facebook.
Memorializing the account: Here you can find the information related to this.


Removal of a deceased person’s account:
In this case your family members or close relatives can file a request on Facebook for the removal of your account. Facebook will need verification that you are an immediate family member or executor for account removal or special requests.
Removal of a deceased person’s account: Here you can find the information related to this.


2. Twitter

After Facebook the first thing which comes to our mind is actually Twitter. You will be glad to know that Twitter too provides way to handle the situation. Unlike Facebook in Twitter you have only one option, you can work with Twitter to deactivate the deceased person’s Twitter account. For this you will need a few verification documents and documents which shows that you’re an immediate family member to this person.


3. Google

When it comes to Google, they have always had their own special ways. In this case too they have their own methods.

Google has a utility called Inactive Account Manager using which you can assign someone to manage your account once you’re deceased. Google uses several signals to understand whether you are still using your Google Account. These include your last sign-ins, your search history, usage of Gmail (e.g., the Gmail app on your phone) and Android check-ins.

But this set up needs to be done beforehand and if you have done so, your connection will get access to your account. It doesn’t stop here too. You can actually set up your account to send a notification(this is optional) once your account has been inactive for the specified amount of time. You can set a message which they will receive and choose what data to share with them once you’re deceased.


4. Pinterest

Pinterest offers a very basic method of deleting a deceased person’s account like Twitter. You just have to contact Pinterest and send them documents to prove your relationship to the deceased person and a documentation which verifies the death of the said person. 


5. LinkedIn

LinkedIn offers an electronically signed form to fill out by a close person to the deceased person. Obviously the form will have questions about the deceased person such as the member’s name, the company they worked at most recently, your relationship to them etc. Once you fill up the form, LinkedIn review team will contact you to proceed further on this. If everything is in order LinkedIn will close the account and delete the profile of the deceased person. 

So I hope this article was useful. Have anything to add to it? Let us know in the comment section.


You may like:

Reactions

Post a comment

0 Comments